The 40th annual ceremony in 2017 honored Lionel Richie, Gloria Estefan, Carmen de Lavallade, Norman Lear, and LL Cool J—marking the first time the event has honored a hip-hop artist. President Trump and First Lady Melania Trump were noticeably not in attendance at the city’s signature cultural event, which featured speeches by Caroline Kennedy and Dave Chapelle, and performances by Stevie Wonder, Luke Bryan, and Leona Lewis. The upcoming ceremony will honor Cher, Reba McEntire, and Hamilton. Next: December 2, 2018